20 years ago today!


Do you remember what happened 20 years ago today?

I fucking do!

20 years ago today, I was 18 years old.  And I was preparing for the show of my life.  I was preparing for the Guns N’ Roses / Metallica show at the Olympic Stadium in Montreal.  It was a killer bill.  Faith no more / Metallica / Guns n Roses.

How could you ask for more.  If I remember correctly, the prices for the tickets were “roughly” 45$.  Very cheap if you compare to the overpriced tickets bands charges.  (Except for GnR that charges way less than others!

Anyhow, I was preparing for the show of my life.  THe show took place.  Faith no more went on.  Followed by Metallica.  Halfway threw the set, a pyro went on, and James Hetfield was burned very badly.  They had to go home.

Guns N’ Roses took the stage 2 hours later.  And disapeared 45 minutes later.

I came back home crying.  We will never know what happened this night.  Bad sound?  Bad night?  Sickness?  Anyhow.  I was pretty sad.  But the end of show got a bit violent outside the Olympic Stadium.  A huge riot started.  Police cars were put into flames, the Montreal Expos boutique was completly vandalized.  The riot stopped couple of hours later.

Anyhow.  I just wanted to remember myself and others of what happened in Montreal, 20 years ago!  One night I will never forget!  

It took 18 years before the Gunners came back to Montreal.  Another show I will never ever forget!  

Leave a Reply

